Quick Links
History of Alappuzha
About Alappuzha
Backwaters of Alleppey
Access Alappuzha
Contact Us
Nehru Trophy Boatrace
Places of Interest
Alleppey Education
Alleppey Livestock
Alleppey Industries
Alleppey Location Map
Explore Kerala

Computer Education
Sanitary Wares

The two administrative systems prevailing in the district revenue and local self-government, under the revenue system, the district is divided into two revenue divisions, 6 taluks and 91 villages. The two revenue divisions are Alappuzha division comprising Cherthala, Ambalapuzha and Kuttanad taluks consisting of 47 villages and Chengannur division comprising Karthikapally, Chengannur and Mavelikkara taluks consisting of 44 villages.

For census purpose, Aroor, Arookutty, Kadamthuruthu, Tanneermukkam Vadakku, Thaneermukkam Thekku,Vayalar East and
District Collector
Alappuzha District Collector
Shri N Padmakumar IAS

Kokkothamangalam village, except the portion included in Cherthala municipality are treated in the 1981 census as census towns based on the threefold criteria adopted for treating a place as census town.

Under the local self-government system, the district is divided into 5 statutory towns and Development blocks consisting of 71 panchayats. It may be noted that the jurisdiction of Development Block includes the areas falling in census towns also.

I. Administrative Divisions : CT-Census Town; M-Municipality; UA-Urban Area

Taluks : Cherthala, Ambalapuzha, Kuttanad, Karthikappally, Chengannur, Mavelikkara.

Development Blocks : Thaicattussery, Pattanakkad, Kanjikuzhi, Aryad, Ambalapuzha, Champakulam, Veliyanad, Chengannur, Haripad, Mavelikkara, Bharanickavoo, Muthukulam (Major portion), Kulanada (small portion).

Towns and Urban Agglomerations having population less than one lakh : Aroor (CT), Arookutty (CT), Kodamthuruthu (CT), Mannancherry (CT), Kayamkulam (M), Chengannur (M), Mavelikkara (M).

Cities and Urban Agglomerations having population of one lakh and above :

Cherthala U.A

(a) Cherthala (M)

(b) vayalar East Village portion (CT)

(c) Kokkothamangalam (CT)

(d) Thanneermukkom (CT)

(e) Muhamma (CT)

Alappuzha U.A

(a) Alappuzha (M) : (i) Kalarcode (OG), (ii) Punnapra (OG)

(b) Komalapuram (CT).

II. Parliamentary constituencies along assembly segments (1996)

Name & No. of Parliamentary Constituencies :

Alappuzha - 15

Mavelikkara - 16

No. & Name of Assembly Segments :
Alappuzha :

97 - Aroor :: Aroor, Ezhupunna, Kadakarappally, Kodamthurthu, Kuthiathodu, Pattanakad, Thuravoor a Vayalar Panchayats in Sherthalai taluk.

98 - Sherthalai :: Sherthalai municipality and Chennam Pallipuram, Mattathilbhagom, Panavally, Thycattussery and Sherthalai South panachayats in Sherthalai taluk.

99 - Mararikulam :: Kanjikuzhy, Marraikulam North, Muhamma and Thaneermukkom Panchayats in Sherthalai taluk : and Aryad, Mannancherry and Mararikulam - South panchayats in Ambalapuzha taluk.

100 - Alleppey :: Alleppey municipality.

101 - Ambalapuzha :: Ambalapuzha, Punnapra, Purakad and Thakazhi (part) panchayats in Kuttanad taluk.

102 - Kuttanad :: Kavalam, Muttar, Neelamperoor, Pulincunnu, Ramankari, Veluyanad, Champakulam, Edathua and Thalavady panchayats in Kuttanad taluk : and Veeyapuram panchayat in Karthikappally taluk.

103 - Haripad :: Cheruthana, Chingoli, Haripad, Karthikappally, Karuvatta, Kumarapuram, pallipad, Thrikunnapuzha, Cheppad and Arattupuzha panchayats in Karthikappally taluk.

The community wise break up [OBC] in Alleppey is Muslims [9%], Christians [25%], Scheduled Castes [8%], Ezhavas [30%], Nairs [13%] and Brahmins [4%], of the Scheduled Castes, Pulayans [5%] are the most numerous.
Mavelikara :

104 - Kayamkulam :: Kayamkulam municipality and Kandalloor, Muthukulam,Pathiyoor, Devikulangara and Krishnapuram panchayats in Karthikappally taluk.

108 - Chengannur :: Venmoney, Ala, Bhudhanoor, Chengannur, Cheriyanad, Mannar, Pandanad, Puliyoor and Thiruvandoor panchayats in Chengannur Taluk.

109 - Mavelikkara :: Mavelikara municipality and Chennithala, Thripperumthara, Chettikulangara, Mavelikkara, Thekkekara, Bharanikkavu and Vallikunnam Panchayats in Mavelikkara Taluk.

110 - Pandalam :: Thazhakara, Noornad, Palamel, Pandalam Thekkera and Mavelikara Thamarakulam Panchayats in Mavelikara Taluk.

   Properties for sale in Alappuzha
   Accomodation in Alappuzha
   Route Map